Audi defends its title at Bathurst

5th Mar 2012 by Admin

Audi - Bathurst 12hr - 2012 It was back-to-back wins for Audi and its R8 LMS GT3 racecar at the Bathurst 12 Hour in 2012. After claiming a one-two result in this event in 2011, the Audi R8 LMS returned to Mount Panorama to repeat last year’s win. This phenomenal car has been racing around the world over the last three years, and has notched up 115 single victories and 13 titles.

The Bathurst 12 hour race is attracting increasing international attention, with Ferrari, Mercedes, Lamborghini and Porsche all competing with international drivers this year.

The Audi team was a high-calibre driver line-up with Christopher Mies (Germany), Darryl O’Young (Hong Kong), and Christer Jöns who with Mies won the Nürburgring 24 Hour race for Audi. Darryl O’Young also won the endurance race in 2011.

Audi - Bathurst 12hr - 2012 Weather conditions certainly were not favourable to racing. The event started at 6.15am in total darkness, heavy rain by 9am and the top of Mount Panorama was covered in thick fog by midday.

The big crowd, however, stayed true, and was especially enthusiastic about the all-Australian driver line up for the second Audi R8, with Mark Eddy, Craig Lowndes and Warren Luff. Unfortunately, after sharing the lead during the morning sessions, the eighth hour brought heavy rain periods and the number two Audi hit the wall at the top of Mount Panorama and suffered too much damage to continue.

Audi - Bathurst 12hr - 2012 Final results for the weekend were:

Class A and overall winner: Audi R8
Class B: Nathan Tinkler of Mining, Racing, and Newcastle Jets and Knights fame.
Class C: Nissan GTR, which lead the class from the fourth hour and finished sixth overall
Class D: HSV GTS
Class E: HSV VX-R

« Back to news

© 2017 Bellbowrie Motors View our Privacy Policy Site By ANT Design